Is it okay to paint wood floors?

rhiannon's INTERIORS

Fix it Friday painting wood floorsQ. I watch HGTV A LOT! I’ve seen them do makeovers where they paint the floors. Is this practical? If so, I want to paint my wood floors. Is that a stupid idea?

A. Oh i have a deep inner struggle with this topic. There is half of me that loves natural wood floors, and the thought of painting over them is atrocious. I mean there is no going back. This is essentially the most critical downside. If you like wood floor and just want another material, look into this article discussing laminate vs. wood flooring.

Still, the other half of me loves what I have seen from these painted floors, and have heard nothing but good things. If you do want to do it, here is what you should know.

Preparation and Paint

It is surprisingly quick to do. In the grand scheme of things, this is a…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

